Mid Coast Council

What is MidCoast Council?

MidCoast Council was formed by NSW Government proclamation on Thursday 12 May 2016 through the merger of the former Great Lakes, Greater Taree and Gloucester Shire Councils. While our name has changed, our commitment to community hasn’t. We will be working hard to ensure that it’s business as usual as far as you’re concerned.

If you have business with Council, you can continue dealing with your local office (Forster, Gloucester, Taree, Stroud and Tea Gardens), in the same way you always have.

If you’d like to know more about the NSW Government’s reform of local government, visit www.strongercouncils.nsw.gov.au.

The new Council area and its regions:
  • covers more than 10,000 square kilometres
  • has 190 kms of coastline
  • has 3,590 kms of road and 487 bridges
  • has a population of over 90,000 people

To help you work out which MidCoast Council region you should contact for services, the map below shows the three regional boundaries.


Scroll to Top