2018 Jury Announcement + [REC] Ya Shorts Gets A Name Change!

Meet the [REC] Ya Shorts 2018 Jury

All the short films are in, and all seems quiet, as filmmakers wait to hear if their film will be a finalist…

Well, it’s all action for the Screenwave Team, as we work with our panel of judges to enjoy and assess all of [REC] Ya Shorts 2018’s amazing short film entries. We would like to introduce you to our accomplished 2018 jury of Australian filmmakers that selected this year’s finalists and winners.

Daniel Monks

Daniel Monks was recently nominated for the Best Lead Actor AACTA (The Aussie Oscars!!) for his role in the film PULSE, which he also wrote, produced and edited. The film won the Busan Bank award, and was the first Australian film to do so. Daniel is also a Helpmann nominated theatre actor, and has created numerous short films that have played Australian and International Film Festivals.

Alice Foulcher

Alice Foulcher grew up in Regional NSW (Coffs Harbour in fact!) before heading to film school in Melbourne, graduating with Masters from the VCA School of Film and Television. She co-wrote, produced and starred (in a dual role as twins!) the breakout indie feature film, THAT’S NOT ME, alongside her partner Gregory Erdstein. The film was the highest-grossing independent Aussie film in 2017!

Tysan Towney

Tysan Towney is an Australian actor who grew up in Regional NSW, near Scott’s Head. Starring in hit Australian series such as CLEVERMAN and ROMPER STOMPER, he has also starred in numerous Australian short films, playing festivals such as Sydney Film Festival.

Stevie Cruz-Martin

Stevie Cruz-Martin’s career in film began with acting, but she quickly found a passion for directing and being behind the camera. Her feature debut PULSE won both the Busan Bank award, and the Best Australian Independent Film Peer Award at the Gold Coast Film Festival. She was commissioned by Screen NSW’s Screenability fund to create the short film BROKEN, which premiered at the Sydney Film Festival.

Greg Erdstein

Also a graduate of the VCA School of Film and Television, Gregory Erdstein was an artist-in-residence at the prestigious Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris in 2014, alongside partner Alice Foulcher, where they developed and co-wrote THAT’S NOT ME. Gregory directed the film, which won Best Film under $500K at the Ozflix Independent Australian Film Awards.

[REC] Ya Shorts Get a Name Change

This year REC Ya Shorts gets a face lift as we change to its new name, “Nextwave” – the official youth program of the Screenwave International Film Festival (SWIFF).

The 20 finalist films for REC Ya Shorts 2018 will be premiered at the Nextwave Youth Film Awards on January 18th at C.ex Coffs, which will be part of SWIFF 2019 (Jan 10-25, Coffs Coast).

For tickets to the Nextwave Youth Film Awards, go to www.swiff.com.au after December 8th to book your seats. Last year the session was a full house, so we suggest booking in nice and early.

All competition finalists receive 5 free tickets to bring their squad to cheer them on. All filmmakers that made a film for this year’s competition also receive a free double pass to come and check out the awards night.

Congratulations to all winners (announced at the Nextwave Youth Film Awards), all finalists, and every single person that made a film this year!

Scroll to Top